City Council

City Council Group Picture 2023

Mayor - elected at large
District 1 - West Longview
District 2 - Southwest Longview
District 3 - Southeast Longview
District 4 - Northeast Longview
District 5 - Northwest Longview
District 6 - Central Longview

City Council Meetings

Regularly scheduled City Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. unless otherwise scheduled. Meetings are held at City Hall, Jo Ann Metcalf Municipal Building, 300 W. Cotton St.

Agendas, Minutes & Videos

The Agenda Center provides links to the most recent and all agendas, minutes, and videos available.


The City of Longview operates with a Council/Manager form of government. The City Council is comprised of a Mayor, who is elected at large, and 6 Council Members, 1 elected from each district. The Council appoints the city Manager, city Attorney, Municipal Judge and city Secretary, who work with direction both from the City Council and city Manager. All other staff members work under the direction of the city Manager.

The Mayor and Council are the policy makers for the City of Longview. Among their many duties, the Mayor and Council take feedback from the community, approve the budget and tax rate, adopt resolutions and ordinances, establish goals and provide direction for the city government, and supervise, monitor, and evaluate the city manager's performance.