Juvenile Cases

The State of Texas classifies anyone under the age of 17 as a juvenile.

Making a Plea


All juvenile cases are heard by the Judge. The fine may NOT be paid at the window until the defendant has appeared before the Judge. Summons are sent to the parent/guardian of all juvenile offenders. Parents/guardians are required to attend court with the juvenile.

Failure to Attend Court
Juveniles and their parents who fail to appear in court as summoned may be brought to the court by a City Marshal. Should the Marshal be unable to locate the child, the state will be notified and the juvenile's drivers license will be suspended. Should the juvenile not have a current drivers license, the state will put a hold on the ability to obtain a license until the case is resolved.

Teen Court
Longview Teen Court is a non-profit organization that works with the Longview Municipal Court to provide alternate sentencing opportunities for juveniles charged with Class C Misdemeanor offenses.  If the juvenile successfully completes the requirements, their case is dismissed and will not show as a conviction on their record.

Juveniles may request that their case be referred to Teen Court upon making a plea of no contest or guilty. A non-refundable $40.00 is paid to the Municipal Court and the case is referred to Teen Court for intake. The case will be heard for sentencing only in the Teen Court process. The defendant is sentenced to community service hours and terms by the Teen Court jury. Once the requirements are met, the defendant must provide a copy of their completion certificate to the court for dismissal.

Eligible juveniles must be currently enrolled in school and cannot have taken Teen Court within the past 24 months from the date of the citation.  For more information concerning the Teen Court program please contact 903-237-2736 or check the Longview Teen Court Website.

If the juvenile fails to comply with any terms of the Teen Court requirements, they will be found in non-compliance and will be required to appear before the Municipal Court Judge in a Show Cause Hearing to show cause as to why they did not complete the terms of the court order. Juveniles found to be in non-compliance will also be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety and the juvenile's drivers license will be suspended. Should the juvenile not have a current drivers license, the state will put a hold on the ability to obtain a license until the case is resolved.

Minors Charged with Alcohol or Tobacco Offenses
The State of Texas classifies anyone 
under age 21 for alcohol related offenses and under 18 for tobacco offenses as a minor.

Minors charged with an alcohol related offense or tobacco offense must appear in court.  The fine may NOT be paid at the window until the defendant has appeared before the Judge.   The parent or guardian may accompany the minor, but it is not required if the defendant  is 17 years of age or older at the time of the offense.