Juvenile and Minor Cases
The State of Texas requires Juveniles and Minors to appear before the Municipal Court Judge to submit their plea. Here are some things to know:
- A defendant 16 years old and younger is considered a Juvenile.
- A defendant under age 21 years old for alcohol or tobacco related offense is considered a Minor.
- Juveniles/Minors who receive a citation in the Municipal Court must appear in court before the judge.
- The parent or guardian must accompany the defendant unless the defendant is 17 years or older at the time of the offense.
- A summons will be mailed to the address given at the time the citation was issued with the court date and time.
- The case may not be resolved at the window until the defendant has appeared before the Judge.
Failure to Attend Court
The State of Texas will be notified and the juvenile or minor’s driver’s license will be suspended if they do not appear in court. If they do not have a current driver’s license, the state will put a hold on the ability to obtain a license until the case is resolved.
State law provides for the court to offer Juveniles/Minors the opportunity for a deferred disposition to keep the offense from appearing on their record as a conviction. This is especially important for alcohol related offenses and theft cases. A conviction for these offenses can interfere with future education and employment opportunities. One form of deferred disposition is Teen Court.
Longview Teen Court is a non-profit organization that works with the Longview Municipal Court to provide juveniles and minors, who are under 18 and still enrolled in junior high or high school, alternate sentencing opportunities. If the program is successfully completed, the case is dismissed and will not show as a conviction on their record.
For more information concerning Teen Court, please contact 903-237-2736 or check the Longview Teen Court Website. You may also contact the Longview Municipal Court for information at 903-237-1186.