Walk of Honor 

Walk of Honor Logo

The Longview Walk of Honor pays tribute to individuals whose achievements have made a significant historical, cultural, or societal impact in Longview or beyond. Honorees are recognized with a sidewalk plaque placed throughout the Downtown Longview area. 

The public is invited to attend a ceremony celebrating the first slate of honorees on Sunday, September 24, 2023.  In addition, a temporary exhibit featuring information and items from the lives of each honoree will also be on display at the Gregg County Historical Museum. 

Walk of Honor Ceremony and Plaque Unveiling

  • Sunday, September 24, 2023 at 2 p.m.
  • Heritage Plaza, 219 E. Methvin St.
  • Due to weather,  the event will be held indoors at Longview Museum of Fine Arts, 215 E. Tyler St.
  • Free and open to the public

Walk of Honor Exhibit

  • Sunday, September 24 – Saturday, October 28, 2023
  • Gregg County Historical Museum, 214 N. Fredonia St.
  • During open museum hours. Regular museum admission may be required.

2023 Honorees

The Longview Walk of Honor Task Force has selected the following individuals for the inaugural slate of honorees. The task force reviewed nominations received from the public, task force members, and city staff.  In selecting Robert and Pauline Cargill, Carl Estes, R.G. and Evelyn LeTourneau, and Dr. Isaac E. Willis, Jr., the task force are providing posthumous recognition to several historic honorees who helped shape the growth of Longview during the mid-20th century through engagement in economic development and community service.  Honoree Neal McCoy continues to provide an impact in Longview today through his successful country music career, East Texas Angel Network humanitarian work, and other community involvement. 

  • Robert and Pauline Cargill
    Community and Economic Development Advocates
  • Carl Estes
    Newspaper Publisher and Economic Development Advocate
  • R.G. and Evelyn LeTourneau
    Inventor and University Founders
  • Neal McCoy
    Country Music Artist and Humanitarian
  • Dr. Isaac E. Willis, Jr. 
    Podiatrist and Community Advocate

Honoree Nomination Process

Do you know someone who you think should be recognized as part of Longview’s Walk of Honor? Nominations are welcomed from the public and will be reviewed by the Walk of Honor Task Force for consideration. Please see the application form for additional details and eligibility requirements. 

Current Task Force Members 

  • Tim Patrick (Chair)
  • Iler Boyd
  • Rosalind Cantue
  • David Choy
  • Jim Cogar
  • Dena Dotson 
  • Tamika Franklin
  • Hank Guichelaar
  • Rosheia Hodge
  • Scott Lewis
  • Karen Maines
  • Barbara Scott
  • Chardee Snoddy


The Longview Walk of Honor is made possible thanks to generous support from community sponsorships. Thank you to these organizations for their support. 

Platinum Sponsor

  • Downtown Longview, One Hundred Acres of Heritage Downtown Longview Horizontal Logo
  • Friends of Longview Walk of Honor

Gold Sponsor

  • Komatsu-Logo Opens in new window
  • A&M Concrete and Construction, LLC.

Silver Sponsor

  • Austin Bank
  • LeTourneau University
  • Longview Economic Development Corporation

Bronze Sponsor

  • Texas Bank and Trust